About Us


May 24, 2004
The CU Museum's Anthropology Section announced this year's recipients of the Joe Ben Wheat Fellowship and Undergraduate Award: Jill Ahlberg and Eugene Wheaton.
Jill Ahlberg, a graduate student in Anthropology at the University of New Mexico, has been awarded the 2004 Joe Ben Wheat Fellowship for outstanding graduate student research. Ms. Ahlberg is studying modern Navajo weaving in relation to self-awareness, personal development and identity.
The fellowship was established to honor the memory of Joe Ben Wheat, a leading scholar of the American Southwest. Dr. Wheat was a curator at the University of Colorado Museum for over 40 years. He was a consummate scholar of the anthropology of the American Southwest and Colorado Plains. His work in Southwestern Indian jewelry, textiles, and pottery significantly expanded the scope and quality of the Museum's collections. His archaeological research in Paleoindian and Puebloan archaeology was original and challenging. The scholarship supports research in Dr. Wheat's areas of scholarship.
The Joe Ben Wheat Scholarship is made annually to an outstanding graduating senior focused on the anthropology of the Greater Southwest at the University of Colorado Boulder. This year's recipient is Eugene Wheaton. Gene is a non-traditional, returning student, who graduated with honors. He will begin the graduate program here at CU in archaeology in the fall.
The award was established in memory of Joe Ben Wheat, long-time curator and professor at the University of Colorado Museum. The award honors outstanding matriculating undergraduates at the University of Colorado who have demonstrated research excellence in Dr. Wheat's areas of scholarship.

Return to Museum News.