Graduate Program

MFS Graduate Program - Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Dr. M. Deane Bowers
Professor of EBIO (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology)
Curator of Entomology
PhD, University of Massachusetts
Interests: insect ecology, evolution, and behavior, plant-insect interactions, chemical ecology, biology of butterflies and moths
Email: deane.bowers@colorado.edu
Website: The Deane Bowers Lab Group

Video Clip

 

Read an interview with Dr. M. Deane Bowers:
Five Questions for M. Deane Bowers

Dr. Karen Chin
Assistant Professor of Geological Sciences
Curator of Paleontology
PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara
Interests: paleoecology, the study of fossil feces and dinosaur paleobiology
Email: karen.chin@colorado.edu

Video Clip

Dr. Jaelyn Eberle
Director of Museum and Field Studies Program

Assistant Professor of Geological Sciences
Curator of Vertebrate Paleontology
PhD, University of Wyoming
Interests: vertebrate paleontology and ancient mammals
Email: jaelyn.eberle@colorado.edu
Website: http://geode.colorado.edu/~eberlej/

Video Clip

Dr. Robert Guralnick
Associate Professor of EBIO (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology)
Curator of Invertebrates
PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Interests: invertebrate zoology, especially molecular evolution and conservation in freshwater systems; phylogeny of invertebrates; morphometrics
Email: robert.guralnick@colorado.edu
Website: Guralnick Lab

Video Clip

Dr. J. Patrick Kociolek
Director - University of Colorado Museum of Natural History

Professor of EBIO (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology) and Curator of Diatoms
PhD, University of Michigan
Interests: taxonomy, systematics, and ecology of diatoms
Email: patrick.kociolek@colorado.edu

Video Clip

Dr. Stephen Lekson
Professor of Anthropology
Curator of Anthropology
PhD, University of New Mexico
Interests: American Southwest archaeology, museums and interpretation
Email: steve.lekson@colorado.edu

Video Clip

Dr. Christy McCain
Assistant Professor of EBIO (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology)
Curator of Vertebrates
PhD, University of Kansas
Interests: community ecology, biodiversity, climate change, mammalogy, and vertebrate biology
Email: christy.mccain@colorado.edu
Website: Christy McCain, PhD

Video Clip

Dr. Jennifer Shannon
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Curator of Cultural Anthropology
PhD, Cornell University
Interests: Anthropology of Museums, Contemporary Indigeneity, Ethics and Collaborative Practice, Native North America and Caribbean
Email: jshannon@colorado.edu
Website: Jen Shannon

Video Clip

Dr. Dena Smith
Assistant Professor of Geological Sciences
Curator of Invertebrate Paleontology
PhD, University of Arizona
Interests: terrestrial paleontology, fossil insects, insects and climate change, taphonomy
Email: dena.smith@colorado.edu
Websites: Dr. Dena M. Smith
Invertebrate Paleontology and Paleobotany Lab

Video Clip

Dr. Erin Tripp
Curator of Botany, COLO Herbarium
Assistant Professor of EBIO (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)
PhD, Duke University
Interests: systematics, taxonomy, ecology and evolution of plants (namely Acanthaceae) and lichens

Teaching Staff

Charles Counter
Senior Instructor Adjoint in Museology
Exhibits Coordinator - University Museum
MFA, Otis/Parsons School of Design
Interests: exhibit development and design, evaluation, visitor studies, learning in museums
Email: charles.counter@colorado.edu

Video Clip

James Hakala
Senior Educator - University Museum
MAT, The George Washington University
Interests: museum education, evaluation, interpretation, program development
Email: james.hakala@colorado.edu

Video Clip

Dr. Cathy Regan
Education Coordinator
GAMES (Girls At the Museum Exploring Science)
PhD, University of Colorado
Interests: museum education, informal science education, outreach
Email: cathy.regan@colorado.edu

Video Clip

 

Sharon Tinianow
Assistant Director – University of Colorado Museum of Natural History
MS, Lesley University
Interests: visitor studies, family learning, action research, interpretive writing, environmental education, project planning
Email: sharon.tinianow@colorado.edu

Program Staff

 

Janet Bensko
Graduate Program Coordinator
Phone: 303-492-5437
Fax: 303-735-0128
Email: janet.bensko@colorado.edu

Alexandra Rose
Project Manager for Citizen Science Program
Phone:  303-492-6058
Email: alexandra.rose@colorado.edu

Collections Managers

Christina Cain
Collections Manager of Anthropology
Phone: 303-492-2198
Email: christina.cain@colorado.edu

Video Clip

Dina Clark
Collections Manager, Botany
Phone: 303-492-3216
 
 
Toni Culver
Collection Manager, Vertebrate Paleontology and Trace Fossils
Phone: 303-492-5211

 

Tim Hogan
Collections Manager, Botany
Phone: 303-492-3216
 

Dr. Talia Karim
Collections Manager of Invertebrate Paleontology
Phone: 303-492-0018
Email: talia.karim@colorado.edu

Video Clip

Virginia

Virginia Scott
Collection Manager, Entomology
Email: virginia.scott@colorado.edu
Phone: 303-492-6270